Page 12 of 13 FirstFirst ... 210111213 LastLast
Results 111 to 120 of 124

Thread: Windows 10 is here (nearly) and its FREE

  1. #111
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    592
    Quote Originally Posted by stree View Post
    I built myself 3 ITX machines, one Intel, 2 x AMD, all running Win7 Pro 64 bit, Boot times are 28 seconds, 33 seconds and 34 seconds.........
    Microsoft support for W7 Pro until 2020, so plenty of life in it yet.
    Have no need for pawing at my screen, and Win 7 does everything I want. I had W10 right from developers build, just did not find it intuitive so gave away the machine with it installed.
    Win7 is the best desktop OS Microsoft made, Win 10 is a hybrid trying to be all things to be inclusive for tablets, phones etc and I find this hinders rather than helps.
    Are any of the CPU's intel 6 or 7th gen & AMD equivalent's ? If so you may need to take heed of this

    http://www.infoworld.com/article/318...backfires.html


    And the latest advice here: https://www.askwoody.com/

  2. #112
    Senior Member nukecad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    West Cumbria (Lake District)
    Posts
    4,566

    IMPORTANT- Update your Windows 7, 8, 8.1, or 10 NOW.

    A major 'Zero Day' security flaw was found in Windows 8, 8.1, & 10 at the weekend.

    It is unlikely to affect you and as of the time of writing no malware is know to have tried to exploit it.

    Still, MS reacted quickly and rushed out a fix on Monday, which has now also been included as part of todays 'Patch Tuesday' cumulative update.

    So make sure that your Computers' operating system is up to date.

    Windows 8, 8.1, and 10 should do this auomatically - but you may want to check and do it manually.
    Windows 7 users may not have automatic updates turned on, so should do the manual check.
    It is not known to affect Windows XP or Vista, but may do if you have 'Microsoft Security Essentials' installed. (Always a good idea to check for updates anyway).

    To manually update Windows 8, 8.1, or 10-
    Go to the start menu and click on the settings icon (the little cogwheel).
    Click on 'Update & Security.
    Click on 'Check for Updates'.
    Let it do it's thing.
    If you are up to date it will say so.
    If you are not up to date it will download and install the latest updates. This could take some time, and will need at least one Restart of your computer.

    If you need help with updating XP, Vista, or Win7 then give a shout and I'll point you to advice, or you could google it yourself.

    If you want to read more about the exploit that was found:
    http://www.zdnet.com/article/microso...42005331614361
    Last edited by nukecad; 05-10-2017 at 01:04 PM.
    I'm intelligent enough to know that I don't know everything.
    But I'm good at searching for, and finding, stuff.


    Migration from ESA to Universal Credit- Click here.

  3. #113
    Senior Member nukecad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    West Cumbria (Lake District)
    Posts
    4,566
    Even though some still have not got the spring 2017 Creators Update yet (They are being slow rolling it out to everyone)-

    We are now getting to see some of the new features that will (should be) included in the next major Win10 update.
    (The Fall Creators Update, due in September).

    One that may be of particular interest to members here-
    There is a new onscreen keyboard, which allows dictation in any programme:
    You can now use dictation to input text, too. Just tap the microphone button on the keyboard or press the new dictation hotkey, which is Windows+H, and start speaking to type. The dictaiton feature also supports voice commands like “press backspace”, “delete last three words”, and “go to the end of paragraph”.
    On the Ease of Access front-
    There will be a 'color filters' feature designed to allow people with color blindness to easily distinguish between colors.
    The magnifier and narator features also get improvements.

    They are still messing about with Edge and Cortana.
    There are changes to the 'handwriting' tool. (Although why you would want to use a PC/tablet for handwriting still baffles me a bit, what's wrong with a piece of paper?)

    You can read about these, and other changes, here:
    https://www.howtogeek.com/306610/wha...eators-update/
    I'm intelligent enough to know that I don't know everything.
    But I'm good at searching for, and finding, stuff.


    Migration from ESA to Universal Credit- Click here.

  4. #114
    Senior Member phaedra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    742
    "They are still messing about with Edge and Cortana"

    I sorted mine, binned the pair of them

  5. #115
    Senior Member Lighttouch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,511
    It'll be interesting to see what the new system software will be like for Apple products this September too.

    I believe it will be called MacOS High Sierra

  6. #116
    Senior Member nukecad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    West Cumbria (Lake District)
    Posts
    4,566
    Quote Originally Posted by Lighttouch View Post
    It'll be interesting to see what the new system software will be like for Apple products this September too.

    I believe it will be called MacOS High Sierra
    Have you seen the preview blurb?
    https://www.apple.com/uk/macos/high-sierra-preview/
    I'm intelligent enough to know that I don't know everything.
    But I'm good at searching for, and finding, stuff.


    Migration from ESA to Universal Credit- Click here.

  7. #117
    Senior Member Lighttouch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,511
    Yeah, looks interesting. Looks like I'll be able to manipulate photos without going down the photoshop route.

    Just updated a patch to Sierra v 10.12.6 on my Apple iMac 27 inch. Despite the fact that my iMac is 4 years old it handles all memory hungry tasks with ease with a 2.9GHz Intel Quad Core i5 processor.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	s-l500.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	22.6 KB 
ID:	1856

  8. #118
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    436
    Had to happen sometime, I have been cornered into using Win10.......Still going to run a Win 7 box alongside though...........( I usually have 2 or 3 PCs on the go, pick and choose which I want to run.all ITX so tiny boxes)
    Why cornered? well, I wanted to build another ITX on the AM4 Ryzen platform and Win 10 supported but not earlier versions, so got a Win 10 Pro 64 bit and all the hardware. All built and running so now just have to get to grips with 10, killing the telemetry and 90% of the apps inc Cortana and Edge.
    I have a boot time of about 7 seconds, which is impressive, but the hardware helps that along.
    Case is a Lian-Li PC-Q21b
    MB is ASRock AB350-Fatality-Gaming ITX
    CPU is Ryzen R3-1200
    RAM.Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400-16GB ( 2x8GB)
    Boot drive is Samsung EVO 960 256GB NVME M.2
    Data is Seagate Firecuda Hybrid -1TB
    GPU is XFX R7-240
    Power is G-unique Archdaemon Limited edition ( 300 watt, handmade and custom specced to this system, specialist stuff, used them before)
    System is silent, very quick and very small...........cool and low power.......
    Last edited by stree; 09-29-2017 at 02:13 PM.

  9. #119
    Senior Member nukecad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    West Cumbria (Lake District)
    Posts
    4,566
    Once you get used to Win 10 you'll wonder why you didn't get it earlier.

    Yep turn off their telemetry, disable Cortina (stet), disable One Drive, just ignore Edge.
    Internet Explorer is still there it just needs a desktop icon creating (earlier post) or put Firefox, Chrome, or another browser on.
    I'm intelligent enough to know that I don't know everything.
    But I'm good at searching for, and finding, stuff.


    Migration from ESA to Universal Credit- Click here.

  10. #120
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    436
    spybot anti-beacon helps with telemetry, got Firefox as default, duck gogo search, Hoxx VPN.............. working my way through it.............OK so far..............Can always go for a fix on my Win7 box!!

Similar Threads

  1. Free road tax?
    By Mags4 in forum Motoring - help & advice on cars for disabled people, Blue Badge and Motability
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-23-2015, 04:34 PM
  2. ESA and free prescriptions
    By jan1963 in forum Benefits - help & advice on disability benefits, incapacity benefits, ESA and DLA
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-06-2015, 01:59 PM
  3. how do i get a new car and free tax disc???
    By zolo in forum Motoring - help & advice on cars for disabled people, Blue Badge and Motability
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-13-2013, 10:45 AM
  4. Vat free aids
    By Rob in forum Benefits - help & advice on disability benefits, incapacity benefits, ESA and DLA
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-09-2012, 05:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •