PDA

View Full Version : Problem with black dust from stairlift

samui99
08-17-2014, 10:34 AM
Hello

I wonder if anyone here has problems with black dust coming from their stairlift.

I have a Minivator (also known as Handicare and same as Age UK) straight stairlift which is about 4 years old now. Since we have had it we have had problems with silvery black graphite like dust coming off the track and getting onto the carpet. This dust makes a real mess and is quite difficult to clean off. I have been told by the engineer which services the stairlift that this is a problem with all stairlifts and difficult to avoid. However I have never heard of this before and can't find any mention of the problem online.

I wonder does anyone else have a similar problem with their stairlift and how do they keep it clean and stop it making a mess on their carpet.

Thanks
Samui

nukecad
08-17-2014, 02:14 PM
I'm a mechanical engineer and though I have never been involved with stairlifts the problem would seem to be an obvious one.

The dust is probably being caused by a bearing wearing away.

A lot of 'lightweight' bearings these days are made from graphite or tiny glass beads included in a nylon or other polymer matrix.
If the designer doesn't specify the right bearing they will wear away too quickly.
(We can all make mistakes but this sort of thing is usually because of cost cutting, the designer specifies one type of bearing but the purchasing dept. can get a similar one cheaper).

Another possibility with what I understand of stairlifts is that you may have some wheels running up the track, these would be made from the same materials but would have less of the graphite or glass beads in them.

Whichever is the case the fact that they are degrading and giving off the dust means that they are not suitable for the job.