Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ESA and free prescriptions

ESA and free prescriptions

Please can someone help me.i don't know what to do!! I have inadvertently claimed two prescriptions thinking I was entitled to them free as I am on pip and cb ESA.i have now been told I am not!!
    Shall I phone dwp and tell them.i have read that you have to pay a huge fine if they find out.
    This was a genuinene mistake as this is my first time on benefits,
    I don't want this hanging Iver me.what can I do to put it right xxxx

Don't panic just head to the chemist and apologise and offer to pay...I wouldn't think they would take things further

How did you find out you are NOT exempt? Possibly ring them as you say (though I've no idea).

Gosh um I've been searching on the internet:

http://www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/CounterFrau...81_leaflet.pdf

I'm in receipt of ESA Support - Income Related - I presented my letter to the dentist and optician and get free dental treatment and eye test including a pair of glasses.

As I live in Wales I already receive free prescriptions which is a relief as I fluctuate between 8 and 10 prescriptions per month, the only reason they change is sometimes I come off one or two and then have a gap before they try something else.

Another link: http://www.nhs.uk/NHSEngland/Healthc...tioncosts.aspx shows what medication is exempt

With IR ESA - prescriptions are free
    CB ESA - you have to pay

If you have got free prescriptions in error don't worry it's a mistake - no need to rectify just pay for any future ones if on CB ESA

No, you will not have to pay a huge fine if they find out - as Lighttouch said - you've just made an error.

Don't worry - if I were you i'd just carry on as normal.

As you are not entitled to help under ESA rules, maybe you could check to see if you qualify for a Medical Exemption Certificate, click here:

http://www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/HealthCosts/1126.aspx , or the Low Income Sheme may apply.

Thanks for your answers guys.