Thread: Can I get ESA

Can I get ESA

Hello I am Rather new to this so cope with me

I have been awarded enhanced rate PIP in both sections

I have applied for ESA over the phone but am I entitled to it and if so what part

I have been asked to supply a doctors note supporting my claim

I don't think I can work because On my worst days I can't get out of bed or even sit in a chair as the pain in my back and legs are too intense even with pain killers

What's my options?

Thanks in advance

If you have been awarded enhanced PIP (both) then it is highly likely that you will qualify for ESA.

There are some things that you don't mention that will have a bearing.

Such as -

Do you have a partner? If so is your partner working?

If no partner do you live alone or with other familiy members?

Have you any income, pension, etc.
    Have you any savings or property other than your home?

Have you done any work and paid NI contributions in the last 2 years?

You have made the first step by starting your claim by telephone, in which they probably asked the above questions and more.
    You will soon be sent a statement about your claim which you must check but you do not have to sign it or return it.

You do need to keep sending them doctors notes (fit notes) while your claim is being decided (assessed).

If they accept your claim and the 'fit notes' they will then start paying you at the 'Assessment Rate'.

You will not get any payment for the first 7 days of your claim, unless it is linked to a previous claim.
    (ESA can be backdated for up to three months before the date of your claim, you do not have to give a reason for your late claim but it must be backed up by 'fit notes' for the period you are claiming).

Of course all this takes time and you have to be a bit patient.

You will then need to fill a claim form (ESA50) about how your condition affects your ability to work and may need to go for a 'Work Capability Assessment'.