Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My 3 years is up and a new ESA50 received today.

My 3 years is up and a new ESA50 received today.

I've been receiving Incapacity benefit for several years due to depression / anxiety. 3 years ago when it changed to ESA I was sent an ESA50 to continue receiving the benefit and with the help from a disability advisor the questionnaire was completed and luckily I was placed in the support group without needing to attend an assessment. I was awarded it for 3 years and have today received another ESA50 to complete. My condition remains the same as it was previously and I have kept a copy of the previously completed ESA50. Will it be ok to use the same answers that I gave on the previous ESA50 questionnaire or will they compare it with my previous one and think I'm just copying and call me in for scrutiny.

yes you can but you need to explain why its not changed.

If applicable, you should make it clear that you have not received any operative procedures, nor are you taking any new medication that may alleviate your limitations. I.e. Your limitations have not diminished.

Nor have you learned to cope with, or have adapted to said limitations since your last assessment.

If your limitations have increased since your last assessment, make that clear also.

I know this may seem that you are stating the obvious; however, this has to be done on each reassessment.

Thanks for the reply, yes that makes sense and will do just that.

After I was last awarded ESA the disability advisor told me to contact DWP to ask how long I have been given and also request a copy of the healthcare report which I did. Should I also enclose a copy of that report with the ESA50 as it's quite supportive and says "I advise that the client meets support group criteria as they have severe functional disability - I advise that work is unlikely in the longer term - The available evidence suggests improvement is unlikely in the longer term."