Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mental Health and PIP?

Mental Health and PIP?

Hello.
    I am in need of some advice please.
    I have been claiming ESA (Support Group) for the last 18 months or so.
    A neighbour recently told me that she won her appeal for DLA. I guess this is the old name for PIP.
    Anyway, she is a chronic substance abuser, but also has mental health issues.
    This got me to thinking about my 'issues'
    My psychiatrist recently diagnosed me with social anxiety and PTSD. These are new issues on top of my 10+ years of depression, anxiety and panic attacks.

I live alone. Just me and my beloved dog. I don't feel safe outside my home.
    When I say I don't feel safe, i don't mean physically. I am so scared of any kind of interactions with people. Even family members, and this is very hard to accept. My family have helped me both emotionally and financially over the last couple of years. I don't want to keep bothering them with my issues. I have joined a couple of support sites online and even used the C.A.L.L Helpline.

Anyway, I was just wondering about PIP. I thought it was based on physical abilities, but looking around the internet I have found a few posts where people are awarded it based on mental health issues.

Can anyone help me out with this?
    What should I do?
    What are the steps?

Thank you so much for any help

*SpaceDust*

PIP is all about how you cope with you daily life and how you can get about.
    There is a 'Daily Living' component and a 'Mobility' component.

You can be awarded PIP for physical problems, or mental problems, or a combination of the 2.

For instance one of the things assessed is interaction with others, which you say you have a problem with.

As a quick start you could try the self-assessment test here:
    https://www.benefitsandwork.co.uk/pe.../pip-self-test
    But remember that only gives a general idea, everyones circumstances are different.