Thread: I don't want to claim ESA?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

I don't want to claim ESA?

Hi all, firstly I hope this makes sense, I asked this question before but I don't think I put it very well.
    My husband has just put in a claim for income support, but with him as a carer( for me )as a couples claim, it says he is entitled to claim IS as a carer, but it went on to say 'your partner' (me) can claim ESA , I don't want to claim it, I can't cope with the stress of it basically, will the Jobcentre insist I claim it instead of my husband getting the income support as a carer for me? I hope that makes sense?
    Many Thanks

Makes good sense to me, although I am no expert in ESA.
    If your Husband claims IS I belive that can give you things like free prescriptions. If you claim ESA i think that would be taken off your husbands IS anyway because IS is means tested. However, have you thought about your NI contributions ?
    I may well be talking out of my rear end here so I hope that one of our learned member will put me right
    Anything expressed is my opinion only and is offered in good faith. It is either from my own experiance or what I have learned on my journey. Take it for what it is or leave it alone. With best wishes D.

Quote Originally Posted by Anyac82 View Post
    Hi all, firstly I hope this makes sense, I asked this question before but I don't think I put it very well.
    My husband has just put in a claim for income support, but with him as a carer( for me )as a couples claim, it says he is entitled to claim IS as a carer, but it went on to say 'your partner' (me) can claim ESA , I don't want to claim it, I can't cope with the stress of it basically, will the Jobcentre insist I claim it instead of my husband getting the income support as a carer for me? I hope that makes sense?
    Many Thanks