Thread: PIP starting blocks

PIP starting blocks

Just sent off for my PIP forms Today, so have got some reading to do on how to maximize the chances of getting this paid to me

my background is, I had a Mini stroke last October which paralyzed me for around 15 minutes (the longest 15 mins of my life) which has now left me with confusion, anxiety attacks, memory loss, forgetfulness, generally what a mild dementia suffer goes through

Although they say a TIA has only temporary effects, study suggests a lot of people do suffer long lasting effects such as mine

I am in full time employment, i always have been but this has now changed me, i work in IT so this really hits me hard with problem solving, retention of information, stress levels ect.

I have already spoken to HR and explained my now difficulties, they have been great and offered support, going part time, reducing my hours, but i cannot afford to do this, so the PIP payment would cover any short falls in reduction of hours if i take up any less hours at work

I have no mobility issues, no physical issues, so asking what would be the chances of getting anything for mental health regarding PIP payments?

Thanks

It's not impossible, I know someone who made a successful claim for MH reasons earlier this year, but I don't think it will be easy given the fact that you're still in work.

Great!!...i sorta knew it will be a uphill battle, if i do not try i will never know

Quote Originally Posted by hotdoglegs View Post
    Great!!...i sorta knew it will be a uphill battle, if i do not try i will never know
    Nothing to do with claiming a benefit is easy today, but if you don't ask you definitely wont get, all the best with it, if you can get some help with the form off a benefit adviser.

You can work and claim PIP, many do.

But it's a bit tough/tricky with mental rather than physical issues.

The fact that you are going to work could seem to rule out quite a few of the MH descriptors.