Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Going through a PIP appeal, here's what we've had to deal with. (Long Post)

Going through a PIP appeal, here's what we've had to deal with. UPDATED

Hello,

A little background info before I get into it, I've been acting as my mother's carer since she retired in 2012, she has respiratory problems, as well as various other ailments which make her life difficult. She was deemed "Not disabled enough" to warrant care, however, her conditions are getting progressively worse, and she said that because I was doing more for her, maybe I could apply again, with the idea that because I do so much for her, maybe they could at least point me in the right direction, because I cannot go to work, because she can't be left on her own.

Well, I got rejected again, and this triggered the process of being moved over to PIP.

We filled out a form, listed all of her problems (which are a lot, I won't bore you with the details now, I'll tell you those later), and we were called to the PIP assessment, which was being undertaken by a Capita assessor. We got to the building, and ran into the first problem right away, her wheelchair wouldn't fit in the lift, that's right, a disability assessor has a lift where a wheelchair cannot fit in. Luckily, she can stand, albeit with a great deal of pain in her back. But we managed to get there on time.

Then we get to the assessment, he's a physiotherapist, and he asked various questions, sometimes, my mother has lapses in memory, so I try to help her answer, and he refused to let me help her answer. I smelled a rat almost immediately, when he asked her "Where did you work before your retirement?" and she gave her answer, and I repeated it, verbatim, and he was trying to lead her to change the answer, he's literally saying a different job to her, to which we both reply "No, it's this".