Thread: Off Road wheel chairs - Any events / reliability Trials / Competitions / parties?

Off Road wheel chairs - Any events / reliability Trials / Competitions / parties?

HI,

Newbie here,

I am new to this whole disability/lack of mobility game so I apologise if I make any terrible social blunders.

I am/used to be (?) a keen mountain biker and often found the best way of deciding what new bike/upgrade I fancied was to go to bike events, races and similar. These always gave me a far more informed and honest opinion that shops and trade shows.

I was wondering if there were any similar events in/near Hampshire for off road wheel chairs?

I had a go in a Boma over the weekend and it was brilliant but I have nothing to compare it to. I can trawl around all the different suppliers and let them tell me how brilliant their chair is compared to the rest but what I really want is to talk to other users, see their kit, have a good laugh with races and competitions (nothing too serious) and generally see what is likely to work best.

I am sure such stuff exists but if you can tell me about stuff, point me in the right direction it will save me days on Google being diverted to US sites.

Some one???

Any one???

Telling me am wrong is okay...

Lots of views but no replies. A few days of Googling has turned up nothing. I have decided to try and replicate the mountain bike event I run. None of this is confirmed yet and I haven't got beyond the first ideas stage but your feedback on this would be gratefully received. In fact, any feedback of comments are welcome, just so I know you are really out there.

The Concept
    The CCC is an event where off road wheel chair users can come to meet, compare, test and compete. There will be a series of different contests and challenges to test the individuals and their machines in interesting and fun ways.

The Event