Thread: still having to pay rent

still having to pay rent

got my pip confirmation letter about 3 weeks ago now but im still having to pay rent. i told the housing association and they just want money and not interested in anything else. i contacted the council and they said they are waiting for a confirmation letter. So anything else i can do as i have been paying rent for about 2 years now while waiting for my PIP tribunal. Im not happy as i doubt im ever going to see this money again.

PIP is not one of the benefits that 'passports' you to Housing Benefit.
    https://www.entitledto.co.uk/help/Passported-benefits

You may still qualify by means of one of the other passporting benefits, or by means of low income, but not jist for having PIP.
    I don't know everything. - But I'm good at searching for, and finding, stuff.

Migration from ESA to Universal Credit- Click here for information.

Sorry im paying over half of the rent because of the benefit cap.

im just annoyed with the whole thing as i was never told about the benefit cap so i only found out when the landlord sent me a letter saying i was 2 weeks away from being evicted. then i had the council on my back about it. so before i even knew about it i was already months in debt & threat of eviction. then a few months after i had started to pay i got another threat of eviction as they said benefit cap had changed so i owed even more in arrears. also i believe the landlord is on some sort of con as over about the last 6 months the rent has dropped twice and as far as i know the benefit cap hasn't changed but i have been paying more and more over them months. And to top it off i have never had a letter saying anything about the benefit cap. i have asked for something to say about it but never got one.
    Last edited by davy; 05-10-20 at 19:13.