Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Savings Assets means tested

Savings Assets means tested

Evening all
    I am a newbie here, have read lots of threads and makes the brain work a bit which cant be bad.
    I have a question that is bothering me some, I live with my partner who does not work and has no income or savings, I am on esa (cb) and have a little savings from 4 decades at work.
    As my 365 days will end and I have savings that would possibly affect chances of getting esa (ir) or limit the amount I could get, my question is if I transfer what savings I have into her name do they look at your partners savings or just there income from any work they may do ?
    What would happen if she got a small amount of interest on that savings would that be classed as income to the household even if its in another name and affect getting esa (ir) ? this small amount is the only thing keeping the wolf from the door.
    Any idea how they look at this situation ? do they just look at my financial state or anyone who lives with me.

They'll ask for household income and savings, bank accounts, possibly statements including those of a partner who lives with you.

Not sure about ESA IB , but think normally savings over 16,000 means there's no benefit paid until savings drop below 16K

Savings between , 6000 and 16000 there's a tiered deduction taken from the benefit of £1 for every £250 over the £6000, or £4 per £1000. So would depend on how long normal expenditure from your savings will take for you to drop below the levels allowed. If I've got the figures wrong someone will correct them for you in the morning.

Other possiblities may be -

If you fit any of the Support Group descriptors you could lodge an appeal for this, as payment continues for CB ESA in the SG group for as long as you meet the SG criteria?

Or do you fit any of the criteria for DLA, as that isn't a means tested benefit ?