Thread: Contribution based ESA soon to end and not eliagble for income based ESA - what now!

Contribution based ESA soon to end and not eliagble for income based ESA - what now!

I have been awaiting assessment for contribution based ESA for almost 10 months, and receive the basic rate atm. I believe/hope to be put in the working group, although I know any payments will stop after 12 months. At this rate it looks like I wont be accessed before the payments stop. I live with a partner who is employed full time so I know I will not qualify for income based ESA - Am I able to apply for contribution based JSA again??

Quote Originally Posted by Scooby View Post
    I have been awaiting assessment for contribution based ESA for almost 10 months, and receive the basic rate atm. I believe/hope to be put in the working group, although I know any payments will stop after 12 months. At this rate it looks like I wont be accessed before the payments stop. I live with a partner who is employed full time so I know I will not qualify for income based ESA - Am I able to apply for contribution based JSA again??
    As far as i know you would not be able to claim CB JSA as you can only be on a CB based benefit for up to a year unless you are in the support group of ESA, CB JSA can only be claimed for 6months.

You're best bet is do go over the ESA descriptors to see if you qualify for any of the schedule 3 descriptors to be put into the support group.

Even if when you eventually get assessed you get put in WRAG you are best off keeping this claim open, with only NI contributions as if in the future you qualify for the support group, your payments will restart.

I'm sure others will be able to advise you further.

Your Contributions Based ESA payments will stop after 52 weeks unless you are assessed and placed in the Support Group. If the assessment takes place after 52 weeks and you are placed in the Support Group, payments will restart.