Thread: Just starting out.....

Just starting out.....

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post as I am a Newbie but I've been hovering in the background for about a week looking at all the posts and seeing the advice. Fabulous job, which is why I've got the confidence to post here.

As the title suggests I'm just starting out on a claim for pip - I haven't made the initial phone call yet but I want to be prepared and have as watertight case as I can, as I was turned down for DLA in 2012.

After reading the advice, so far this is what I have done:

1 Made appointment with GP to discuss the issues
    2 Written to GP requesting a report to support my claim (I have been careful not to include any information about my health conditions as I want her report to be completely subjective)
    3 Prepared a 'draft' of the final answers to the pip questionnaire (currently in progress)

I am also going to approach friends, possibly neighbours, for statements supporting how they have witnessed the functional limitations I experience.

Any other suggestions please?
    Last edited by tattymama; 09-11-2014 at 05:05 PM.

There is a great "sticky" thread on the forum relating to PIP. It has lots of advice and experience from those of us who have been or are going through the process.

What you need to remember is that PIP does not focus on your conditions/illnesses/disabilities, but on how your every day life is affected. Flymo's excellent advice about "painting a picture" is definitely the way to go. You need to give clear information on how you are affected. So, if for instance you say you have arthritis in your knees, you have to show how this affects you. Pain, mobility etc.

Please read through the sticky thread, there is a lot on there, but well worth the read as it is very helpful in understanding the processess, and what information is relevant in your claim.
    What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.