Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pip awarded high daily living - will i get esa disability premiums backdated

Pip awarded high daily living - will i get esa disability premiums backdated

Hello all, I'm new to this so sorry if this has been covered.

I have finally got my PIP awarded and I'm getting daily living at £81.30 awarded from 27 june, I'm also in the ESA support group, i also get the severe premium with the sea, but should i have got a backdated payment from the date of my PIP award, as this is what both the CAB and PIP department told me ?

If you could help in anyway that would be great.

Thanks

S

I'm in a similar situation and am wondering about Severe Disabilty Premium.

In the last week I've been awarded ESA support group and PIP Enhanced daily living.

ESA came through first and they included a disabilty premium of approx £15. Which seemed correct.

But then a few days later I got the PIP decision with enhanced daily living.

Am I right in thinking I'm now eligible for severe disability premium? I live alone and have no carer. I'm hoping so because it's an extra £50 or something.

Sorry to hijack your thread, but it's so similar I didn't want to start a new topic.

Hi Skipper and Scott. Congrats on your awards 1stly.

just wanted to confirm that Yes, due to your PIP daily living awards, both standard and enhanced, as Skipper says single and nobody claiming carers I guess is what he/she meant to say, and in this case is entitled to severe disability premium (SDP). This is paid at same rate as Carers Allowance, currently around £61.00. This being added as a premium may well mean further entitlements to income related ESA which in turn will passport to Housing Benefit/Council Tax assistance (bear in mind eacl local authority has their own assistance scheme for CT).

Premiume generally should be backdated to relevant date of PIP claim/ESA claim dates.